The Curious Vanishing of Beatrice Willoughby

For ages 8+

The Amadeuses were always considered somewhat strange. Even before the incident.

When six-year-old Beatrice Willoughby vanished at the Amadeuses’ annual All Hallows Eve party, people in the tiny mountain town of Nevermore were quick to whisper: They were always odd. Their house is full of dark magic. And when Mort Amadeus was pegged for the crime, the Amadeuses, once the center of society, retreated. They closed their doors, disappeared from life. People almost forgot. Until thirteen years later, when six envelopes land at the doorstep of six households in town: We cordially invite you to a celebration on the 31st of October this Saturday evening at the Amadeus household.

So begins the mystery of who was really responsible for the missing girl thirteen years ago. The guests must work together to identify the guilty party among them over the course of the evening—but beware the ticking clock, because at midnight, everything is going to change!

★ Praise ★

Utah Beehive Book Award Nominee

Maryland Black-Eyed Susan Award Nominee

★ “It would be terrifying if it weren’t so gloriously zany.” – Kirkus (starred review)

★ “… a fiendishly clever mystery whose atmosphere is thick with fevered accusations and Halloween fun.” – Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A murder mystery! Phantom creatures! Creepy puppets! Scary woods! A magic mansion! What more could you ask for!” —Steven Banks, author of the Middle School Bites series

“G.Z. Schmidt’s whimsical mystery tale reads like a mashup of Clue and the Brothers Grimm, with plenty of creepy-fun thrills and clever twists along the way. An autumn-tinted, cozy mystery treat for young readers!”—Ben Guterson, Edgar Award nominated author of The Winterhouse Trilogy

“A fun, spooky, puzzling tale that’s perfect for reading under the covers. It’s The Westing Game meets The Addams Family, with a cast of suitably quirky characters you’d expect—along with a few you didn’t!” —Michael Beil, Edgar Award nominated author of The Swallowtail Legacy Series